Distance Education – Chapter 2 : A great experience

Distance Education - chapter 2

What is Distance Education?

“Distance education is a method of education. Students can study in their own time, at the place of their choice (home, work or learning centre), and without face-to-face contact with a teacher. Technology is a critical element of distance education.”
http://www.tonybates.ca/2008/07/07/what-is-distance-education/

These past years had been for me a great experience. I had the chance to study by distance during 4 years, in middle and high school. (see the first chapter)

Each time I got back to my old school , I could see the difference between how I was and how I’d become as a student. Over the years, I became more responsible and independent – maybe too much of the last sometimes, but that’s just me.

I’m not gonna lie to you , distance education is hard. Organisation is essential. Personal investment and motivation are the keys to your success. There will be no one behind you , no one requesting you to learn that lesson or to do this exercise for tomorrow. You are the one and only person responsible for your studies. Organising your schedule, deciding what to work and when to, learning at your own pace are soon going to be part of your casual “routine”. Of course these are the main advantages and disadvantages of working by distance.

Personally, talking about learning methods, I have no preferences. The two I have experienced are entirely different.

Of course, classroom-based schools are great too; This article is not about hating face-to-face teaching. It makes you , in a way, disciplined (waking up early, following the same “strict” routine everyday, etc..) and also important, you learn how to socialize with others.

All I want to say is : you should be comfortable with the factors I’ve mentioned below on distance education if you want to get involved in it. It can be more or less difficult, depending on each person’s personality. I admit I was at first a little puzzled by this whole new thing, I doubted I could ever do it,  but in the end it worked and I enjoyed it. I think everyone can take corresponding courses. You just have to be motivated and enjoy it, because how can you succeed in your studies if you are not happy with what you do?

A.


Leave a comment